fridays in the woods.

21 Jan

The excitement for Friday starts on Tuesday in our house.

When we are in town, Friday nights begin with sweatpants and slippers.

You already want to join us, right?

The rest is a flurry of homemade pizza, couch snuggling, movie watching and occasional adult beverages. Then it usually ends with one of us asleep on the couch. Guess who.

Every so often (last night), dessert (*&#^# brownies*) also stops in to say hello.

Heres how we do it:

We start with the fixins’.

Then have an epic snack. And, do a snack dance (Mr. Woods).

Start the pie. Dough and crushed tomatoes. Bake.

Finish the pie. Cheese and toppings. Bake again.

Try not to have your eyes roll back into your head. We had trouble with this step.

Choose a movie (Moneyball. If you have’t seen it, stop what you’re doing) from my very merry Christmas present from Mr. Woods (AppleTV has changed our lives. Not an overstatement).

And the rest requires no work.

Well, I guess thats if waking up a cranky Mrs. Woods who fell asleep on the leather couch and is sweating and absolutely must clean the kitchen before she gets in bed doesn’t count as work.

*These happened too fast for pictures.

3 Responses to “fridays in the woods.”

  1. Jill 2012/01/21 at 13:37 #

    OMG that crust is my heavenly crust…emmy please teach me how to make that great looking crust; being the carbo queen I am that would just do it for me. The innards /toppings are no problem for me.
    I want a friday night with yous guys….can’t wait to see you and Beau; hopefully soon. Colorado awaits you also NJ but then you have done that trip!!!
    Love you both, auntie xoxox

  2. Lisa 2012/01/21 at 14:09 #

    Sounds like my kind of Friday night…you had me hooked at sweatpants and slippers. I love to change right into them when I get home…wow, that sounds SO lame!

  3. Mama Logan 2012/01/23 at 07:25 #

    You take the BEST food pictures! Makes me hungry every time!

Leave a comment