jars from heaven in the woods.

2 Aug

Well, chocolate heaven. If you’re into that sort of thing.

Mr. Woods, who NEVER requests anything specific, asked for brownies.

Ohhhhhh did he get brownines.

Why send conventionally cooked brownies that would likely be dried out by the time he got them, when you could send moist gooey brownies in jars?

Well, you wouldn’t. Which is why I didn’t.

Step 1: Make brownies from a box. I’m kinda busy sometimes, don’t judge.

I chose Ghirardelli, based on Cooks Illustrated’s recommendation.

Pour batter, minus the 5 spoonfuls that you ate, into the jars.

Cook according to the box. I cooked mine to 90% doneness so they were extra gooey for my chocolate lover :)

Step 2: Boil the heck out of the lids and rims.

Step 3: Strain the lids and rims.

Tidbit of advice: don’t try and take pictures while dumping boiling water in your sink.

Step 4: WITH AN OVEN MITT OR SOMETHING NOT YOUR HAND (trust me.) quickly put the lids and rims on TIGHTLY.

Once you think they are tightly screwed on, make them tighter.

Step 5: Wait for the button to pop.

Once it pops, let the jars cool completely, or it might melt the bubble wrap you’re using.

Step 6: Include spoons and napkins.

Send overseas :)

Mr. Woods said these were the best brownies he had ever had.

Of course I immediately felt guilty because I didn’t really even “make” them. BUT, I had two good take-aways from that.

1: He was happy. That means I’m happy.

2: Ghirardelli brownies are really good.

Not my first rodeo…

Here is a picture of Mr. Woods from last year, eating his birthday cake (that I also cooked in jars) on his first deployment.

That package included cake, a tub of frosting, and sprinkles.

I can’t wait to stop baking things in jars one day.

9 Responses to “jars from heaven in the woods.”

  1. Brother 2011/08/02 at 18:58 #

    I personally was lucky enough to get my jars of birthday cake on last year’s deployment as well. I think it was a full 12 jars in the package…and my stateroom-mate and I ate them all. SOOOO good, we didn’t want to share them with anyone else on the ship. Once the cake was gone though…I still had the frosting (which I didn’t tell the stateroom-mate about.)

    Thanks again for the deliciousness!

    xxxo

    • getintothewoods 2011/08/03 at 21:59 #

      Brosef! You were the FIRST recipient of jar-cakes :) Did you channel death becomes her while snacking on the frosting???? ;)

  2. LL 2011/08/02 at 18:58 #

    wow, this is brilliant. where did you get this fabulous idea?! trouble is, i’m just not sure i believe you that they are delicious. i want to take your word for it, but…i would need to taste them to be sure. so, y’know. make of that what you will.

  3. Kristin 2011/08/02 at 19:02 #

    I need to try this….Goodness knows I have PLENTY OF TIME…. :)
    xxx

  4. bewildered mother 2011/08/02 at 19:06 #

    Sounds like a good party favor or hostess gift. Now I want to make some with mint frosting…

  5. Angela 2011/08/02 at 19:52 #

    Aaaaaand there goes what little willpower I had with resisting all things chocolate…..

  6. Grams (Nina's mom) 2011/08/02 at 20:02 #

    Sounds like fun… Fun to make and fun to receive and know the love that was sent in that jar as well… Hmmm now who could I make these for and send to? What do they doe with the jars afterward?

  7. Auntie 2011/08/03 at 09:19 #

    wow…have brownie will travel! You are amazing; that husband of yours will be running into those arms of yours in no time.
    How come they don’t get moldy from the captured moisture in them there jars, are they sterilized? Need some coaching here dear niece!
    xoxox auntie

    • getintothewoods 2011/08/03 at 22:01 #

      The jars are airtight and sealed.. if it is done correctly (thats why you wait for the button to pop)! Can’t wait to see you soon!

Leave a comment